Things must change, and I like going surfing.

Everything is linked. My growing interest in ecology, sustainability and the belief that as humans we are better to do nothing unless it directly benefits those around us and the planet ties in nicely with the fact that I’d prefer to go surfing than do any work. Today is Monday and the day on which I question everything. The answer is always the same – I hate working for a big corporate, as a result I am rubbish at it and I just want to leave as soon as possible. Then I do the maths and I decide I have to stay here another six months. Blah blah blah.

As a result I turn to radical ecological thought on the internet. I just discovered Dark Mountain – this is from their doom laiden manifesto: “there is an underlying darkness at the root of everything we have built. Outside the cities, beyond the blurring edges of our civilisation, at the mercy of the machine but not under its control, lies something that neither Marx nor Conrad, Caesar nor Hume, Thatcher nor Lenin ever really understood. Something that Western civilisation – which has set the terms for global civilisation – was never capable of understanding, because to understand it would be to undermine, fatally, the myth of that civilisation. Something upon which that thin crust of lava is balanced; which feeds the machine and all the people who run it, and which they have all trained themselves not to see.” There’s a happy ending to the manifesto though: “The end of the world as we know it is not the end of the world full stop. Together, we will find the hope beyond hope, the paths which lead to the unknown world ahead of us.”

Phew. I’ll get through another Monday then and behind the scenes I’ll work on my alternative career.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

